Suspension Bridge Road, Leigh Woods, Bristol, Bristol
The Clifton Suspension Bridge is the icon of Bristol, celebrating its 150th birthday this year. The bridge was designed in 1831, took 33 years to build and finally opened in December 1864. On Doors Open Day visitors can enjoy guided walks, departing from the Clifton end of the bridge. They can also speak to Suspension Bridge Explainers, who will be stationed on the bridge in orange high-vis jackets. Each Explainer will tell a different story about the hidden history of the bridge, or the parts which are hidden from view.
This event took place in September 2014 and the entry is now archived.
The area is flat, so is suitable for wheelchairs. There are benches to rest on if required, but the span of the bridge is 214m with no stopping points. There are 2 disabled bays, one at either end of the bridge.
Public toilets are available nearby. The area is flat so is accessible to pushchairs, but is outside. Refreshments can be purchased from nearby Clifton Village. The Visitor Centre will provide postcards, leaflets, books etc. for sale, plus the permanent exhibition.
Bristol Doors Open Day
Date last modified: 10th September 2014 at 14:55