Bayley Lane, Coventry, West Midlands, CV1 5RN
First built in the 14th century, St Mary's Guildhall, is one of the finest surviving examples of a medieval guildhall in the country, with connections to such celebrated personalities as Mary Queen of Scots, William Shakespeare and George Eliot during its long history. First built in the 1340's for the merchant guild of St Mary it was enlarged between 1394 and 1414 and extensively embellished at the end of the 15th century. Soon after it was built it was also adopted as the headquarters of the Mayor and City leaders and the corporation of Coventry remained here until the 20th century when Coventry's present Council House was built. Inside a series of rooms offer an insight to Coventry's past with collections of early arms and armour, furniture and artworks. The main attraction is the Great Hall with its medieval stained glass, a ceiling of carved angels and dominating an entire wall one of the rearest and most important tapestries in the Country. The building still occupies a central role in the civic calendar being the venue of choice for high profile conferences, civic banquets and other ceremonies as well as a regular filming location and venue for weddings and corporate events. The Guildhall will echo to the sound of medieval music, authentically recreated by costumed musicians who'll also be giving talks on the music and instruments of the period. During the weekend guides will be on hand to share fascinating stories from the Guildhall's rich history (and its collection of ghosts) .Areas open: Great hall, Undercroft, Treasury, Prince's Chamber, Drapers Room, Mercers Room, Minstrel Gallery, Armoury and Mary Queen of Scots Room. Exhibition from regional Metal Detector clubs showing finds found in Coventry and surrounding areas.
This event took place in September 2013 and the entry is now archived.
Limited disabled parking available at top of Bayley Lane.
Coventry City Council
Date last modified: 24th June 2013 at 16:17