Hatfield Road, Langford, Maldon, Essex, CM9 6QA
The museum collection illustrates the theme of power. There are engines powered by steam, diesel, petrol and gas. The Langford Pumping Station was built in the 1920s to supply water to Southend-on-Sea District, and is home to what is believed to be the last manufactured Lilleshall triple expansion steam engine, commissioned in 1931. Other attractions include household bygones, Edwardian workshop, miniature steam railway, model village and riverside nature trail. The Steam Pump Tearoom offers a wide range of refreshments. Visit another industrial heritage site at Beeleigh Mill, a pleasant 15-20 minute walk from the Museum of Power via the stunning Beeleigh Falls and canal towpath. (See separate entry) The various children's activities include the Model Railway, a working Telephone Exchange to operate and a working model waterwheel.
This event took place in September 2014 and the entry is now archived.
Disabled access to all levels.
Maldon District Tourist Information Centre
Date last modified: 1st August 2014 at 16:00