Back to results

Built on stone: heritage buildings of Longridge

Longridge Heritage Centre, Station Buildings, Berry Lane, Longridge, Lancashire, PR3 3JP

  • 20 Sep 2025
  • In person
  • Pre-booking not required

Join us to learn about Longridge, a small market town with a fascinating architectural history. To tell the story of Longridge our Built on Stone display will explore the buildings, structures and architectural features that can still be found today.

In the early 19th century there were a total of eight quarries in Longridge. Lancashire towns were developing rapidly and Longridge stone was in high demand for the construction of mills, houses and public buildings. This led to the opening of the Preston and Longridge Railway in 1840. The arrival of the railway brought about the building of several cotton mills, creating a demand for workers, an increasing population and the further development of Longridge.
Come and join us to celebrate the Heritage Open Days 2025 theme of architecture. Our display will explore buildings of special architectural and historical interest in the Longridge Conservation Areas.
Learn about the history of the Longridge Co-Operative Industrial Society store which contributed to cultural life in Longridge with its reading room, library and concert hall.
Discover the story of the twenty inns and alehouses built to serve the farmers, quarry workers and mill hands of Longridge.
Step back in time with a look at the former cinema which started life as a weaving shed in the 1860s before transforming into a music hall, roller skating rink, cinema, and bingo hall.
Enjoy a multi-media display of photographs of buildings and structures included in the Longridge blue plaque scheme.
Our children’s craft activities will have an architectural theme.

Timings & Tours

Saturday 20 September:
10.00 am - 3.00 pm

Location & directions

Longridge Heritage Centre, Station Buildings, Berry Lane, Longridge, Lancashire, PR3 3JP

Directions:
Longridge Heritage Centre is situated to the left of the Towneley Arms public house on Berry Lane. Bus services available from Preston, Blackburn and Clitheroe.
Contact on day:
Anna Crouch
Telephone number:
+441772437958

Booking information

Pre-booking requirement:
Pre-booking not required

Accessibility details

There is a pay and display car park adjacent to the Heritage Centre. Free parking is available at the Civic Hall on Calder Avenue - a five minute walk away.

Additional information

The Preston and Longridge Railway was opened in 1840 to facilitate the movement of quarried stone from Longridge to Preston originally as a gravity railway. The potential of the railway for transporting not just stone but large quantities of coal paved the way for the construction of steam powered cotton mills. In 1848 steam trains were introduced and passenger services continued until the 1930s. The railway line was finally closed in 1968. Longridge railway station was renovated in 2010 and houses the Heritage and Visitor Centre, Longridge Town Council Offices and The Old Station Café.

Check out our online channels

Back to results