History Hiding in Plain Sight!
1 Begbrook Park, Frenchay, Bristol, BS16 1SZ
Enjoy a guided walk with knowledgeable local guides, starting at Frenchay Village Museum and continuing to Frenchay Chapel before heading along Beckspool Road to the Quaker Meeting House. Discover fascinating stories and history along the way, with talks and tours at each stop.
Frenchay Village Museum is housed in West Lodge, which was at the main gate of Frenchay Park House, which has Georgian origins. The Lodge dates from 1870 and the parkland around the House was subsequently developed into Frenchay Hospital (1921 -2014). The museum opened in 2000 and has many artefacts donated by local Quaker families (Tuckett & Fry) including the world's oldest bar of chocolate!
Frenchay Chapel dates from the 17th century and provided a home for dissenting congregations from the Anglican Church, who were early adopters of Unitarian principles. It is an architectural gem, with many interesting features, including a weather vane which commemorates Halley's Comet.
Quaker Friends Meeting House has been described as 'simple, solid and attractive'. The present building dates from 1809 but has much earlier origins. Most of the original 19th century layout survives and there is a charming rear garden area which is seldom open to the public and cannot be seen from the road.
All three of the buildings on this tour form part of the Non-Conformist Trail published by South Glos Council.
1 Begbrook Park, Frenchay, Bristol, BS16 1SZ