Back to results

All Saints Church, Blyford

Blyford Church, Southwold Road, Blyford, Halesworth, Suffolk, IP19 9JY

  • 12 Sep 2026
  • | In person
  • | Pre-booking not required
  • | Walk / Tour

Explore the history and heritage of All Saints Church and Churchyard in Blyford, near Halesworth. Informal tours throughout the day.

All Saints Blyford is a beautiful and historic church in the Blyth Valley. The oldest part of the church dates from the 11th century and the chancel dates from about 1300. Notable features inside the church include the piscina in the south east corner by the altar, and the font in the south west corner, both dating from around 1300. The church has no brightly coloured stained glass and, with its white-washed interior, the interior has a pleasing simplicity. In 1822, plumber glazier J. Wright of Halesworth inscribed his name in one of the diagonal panes of glass in a window in the north east corner. In the porch there is a stone horse's head above the Norman doorway, contemporaneous with the doorway. From the outside, visitors can admire the church's fine 15th-century flint flushwork. Near the main gate into the churchyard is the grave of Samuel Croft, who died at the age of 21 in 1849; the gravestone is remarkable for its detailed depiction of a ploughman, wearing a hat and smock, with his plough and pair of shire horses.

Timings

Saturday 12 September:
11am-4pm

Location & directions

Blyford Church, Southwold Road, Blyford, Halesworth, Suffolk, IP19 9JY

Directions:
The church is opposite the Queen's Head pub.
Contact on day:
Christina Ballinger
Telephone number:
+447881865709

Booking information

Pre-booking requirement:
Pre-booking not required

Accessibility details

There is a step down into the church, otherwise the church and churchyard are on one level. Visitors should take great care in the churchyard and keep to the mown paths. The ground is uneven and some graves at ground level are trip hazards, plus there are rabbit holes.

Additional information

In the churchyard are two hand-made benches made by Crispin Chalker from timber grown at the nearby village of Thorington. The benches are decorated with carvings by Suffolk sculpture Mary Anstey-Parry and the carvings illustrate wildlife found in the churchyard. There will be a fundraising stall on the green opposite the church. There is also parking on the green.

Max number of people:
20
Estimated duration:
0 hour(s) 30 minute(s)

Check out our online channels

Back to results