The Queen's College
Queens College, High Street, Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX1 4AW
Visitors to The Queen’s College can discover its magnificent architecture, including the celebrated Front Quad, Chapel, and Upper Library, one of the finest Baroque rooms in England.
The Queen’s College was founded in 1341 by Robert de Eglesfield, a chaplain in the household of Queen Philippa of Hainault, in whose honour it was named. During the fifteenth and sixteenth centuries Queen’s steadily expanded, and by the Elizabethan era had become one of the largest Oxford colleges. In the seventeenth century Queen’s continued to grow, and the magnificent Library was added during 1693-6. Around 1700 the decision was taken to rebuild the medieval college entirely, so that by 1760 Queen’s was the only Oxford college to be housed entirely in Baroque buildings. The Front Quad, which Pevsner called ‘the grandest piece of classical architecture in Oxford’, was heavily influenced by the great architect Nicholas Hawksmoor.
All visits: drop-in, free flow.
Queens College, High Street, Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX1 4AW
Accessible entrance (lift) available to left of main High Street entrance. Hall, Chapel, Quads, Lower Library and New Library - level access or lift/ramps available. No level/lift access to Upper Library (stairs only).