Tours of the Castle Mound
Castle Park, The Causeway, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM23 2EL
The mound (or motte) in Castle Park, Bishop's Stortford, is all that remains of the only castle built and used by the Bishops of London for more than 5 centuries. It was operative from about the mid 1070s and was used to manage the London Bishopric's extensive landholdings after the Norman Conquest in 1066. The castle bailey once housed a chapel, a prison and other buildings. We know it previously contained a Saxon burial site which is currently being investigated - it is evidence of the first Stortford residents. The mound is distinctive and has the remains of three buildings on its summit. The purpose of the tours is to inform people about the castle and suggest the purposes of the mound's building remnants. Why would the Bishop of London build a castle in Bishop's Stortford? How was it built? Where did the mound material come from? What caused its demise? Tours, of 15-20 minutes, will show you around and answer some of these questions.
Castle Park, The Causeway, Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire, CM23 2EL
Access up the castle mound is via about 20 uneven steps with a handrail, so it is not suitable for everybody. The top of the mound is grassed, but uneven in places; it may be slippery if wet. Children must be supervised because the castle mound has steep slopes and the ruins on the summit have sunken floors. Care should be taken as it is registered as an Ancient Monument. There are good views from the top, and The Terrace Park Cafe in the bailey area is open with refreshments; toilets are close by.
A book about the castle is available to purchase from the Bishop's Stortford History Society website, the Tourist Information Centre in Market Square, and at the site on the Heritage Open Day. By Michael F James & Ruth Halliwell: The Bishops' Castle: Waytemore and Bishop's Stortford, published 2025, price £25.