St Mary's Church Lymm
St Mary's Church, Higher Lane, Lymm, Cheshire, WA13 0AP
St Mary’s Church: A tour through the church and through the ages
A brief History and key dates
• 680 A D the Angle Uhtred built a farm in the area.
• 700 A D this area became part of the Christian kingdom of Mercia, and the first wooden church was built
• 1085 the Doomsday survey tells us that there were two manors in Lymm held by Gilbert de Venables and Osbern Fitz Tezzo. Two priests alternated the Sunday service at the church which continued until Oughtrington church was built in 1868
• 1100 a stone church was built which lasted for 200 years
• 1278 First mention of a rector for the parish
• 1320 the next church was built and lasted for 530 years. In this church there were no pews, the stained glass and the tower were later editions ( 1521)
• 1690 No records show when the first bells or clock were installed but the register of this date states ‘oyle for ye clocke’
• 1850 the church was taken down apart from the tower of 1521 – this was increased in height. This was not a good move as it had to be rebuilt in 1890
Come and enjoy a guided tour of the church, it's windows and its tower. Also a fascinating hourly guide of the church's grave yard entitled 'The Worthy, The Willing and the Waifs' led by Lymm Heritage Centre.
St Mary's Church, Higher Lane, Lymm, Cheshire, WA13 0AP
Access to the tower is not disabled friendly
Information on the historical grave yard will also be available.