Whitfield Tabernacle Open Day
Park Road, Kingswood, Bristol, Gloucestershire, BS15 1QU
The Whitfield Tabernacle was built by local preacher John Cennick to serve as a meeting house for the followers of George Whitefield. Whitefield has been part of the Wesley's 'Holy Club' in Oxford and went out to America in 1739 to take over John Wesley's preaching duties. Prior to this, George's preaching in Bristol and Kingswood had attracted thousands of followers. His impact amongst the miners of the Kingswood area had been particularly powerful. However, by 1741 a division between Whitefield and Wesley led George to issue instruction for the 'not too handsome' Tabernacle to be built. The building was in use from 1742 to 1992, but dwindling congregation numbers and rising maintenance costs led the United Reformed Church to leave the Tabernacle and sell the building to a property developer.
A failure to agree what should be done with the building resulted in further deterioration and an arson attack. A former Trust got the Tabernacle featured on the BBC 'Restoration' programme, but were not successful in getting it selected for further investment. Our new Trust was formed in 2017, and was able to purchase what had become a 'Heritage at Risk' site in 2019. The building has been saved and now has a roof and windows; but considerably more investment is needed to turn a saved building into a useful building.
Our Open Day will allow visitors to learn more about our plans and experience the 'Wow' that everyone feels when they first enter our saved (but empty) space.
Park Road, Kingswood, Bristol, Gloucestershire, BS15 1QU
The Tabernacle is unsuitable for wheelchair users or anyone with mobility issues. We have no floor, no ramped access and no toilet facilities.