Princethorpe College, Leamington Road, Princethorpe, Rugby, Warwickshire, CV23 9PX
Built in 1832, St Mary's Priory was one of the first Catholic buildings in England after the reformation. Come for a tour of the magnificent building and learn all about its history, including the amazing women that made it the place it is today.
From 1833 until 1966, St Mary's Priory was home to a congregation of Benedictine nuns who ran a boarding school for girls. This community sold the priory in 1965 and a new school was established by the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart, who had previously run a boys' school in Leamington Spa. Princethorpe College is now a fully co-educational Catholic independent day school.
Our archive team will be conducting free tours of the College on Sunday 10th September from 1400-1600. Tours will start on the hour and half-hour, with the final tour starting at 1500. Areas open include Pugin’s magnificent chapel, the cloisters, nuns’ cells, library (former church) and our unique roundhouse.
Admission is free and there is complimentary tea and coffee available. We would be delighted to see you!
This event took place in September 2023 and the entry is now archived.
Date last modified: 25th August 2023 at 17:46