The Forge, Winlaton
Behind Winlaton Community Library, Church Street, Winlaton, Blaydon on Tyne, Tyne & Wear, NE21 6AR
This cottage forge is the sole surviving remnant of Sir Ambrose Crowley’s once-mighty industrial empire in Winlaton. Built around 1691, it represents more than three centuries of Tyneside metalworking heritage and tells a fascinating story of early industrial life. Constructed when Sir Ambrose Crowley relocated his ironworks from Sunderland to Winlaton, this building was originally designed as a cottage forge.
Historically, the building featured the blacksmith’s living quarters attached directly to the left-hand side of the workshop, allowing the smith and his family to live and work in the same space. The forge was originally part of Hood Square, one of the three gated manufacturing "Squares" established in the village (alongside Hanover and Commercial Squares). Each square was an open courtyard layout combining workshops, dwellings, and small garden plots.
Life within Hood Square was subject to a paternalistic but incredibly strict set of rules outlined in the famous Law Book of the Crowley Ironworks. Crowley’s Ironworks greatly expanded in the late 17th century and early 18th century, fuelled by significant supplier contracts with the Admiralty.
Although Crowley’s were recognised to have established advanced conditions for their own workers, their business, like so many industries at the time, did support and advance the slave trade. Winlaton & District Local History Society acknowledge Crowley's role in perpetuating this heinous trade.
Behind Winlaton Community Library, Church Street, Winlaton, Blaydon on Tyne, Tyne & Wear, NE21 6AR